Facing Life After 50

Perhaps the title should read, Living Life After 50 instead. After getting married for the first and last time at 41, I was able to go back and finish my education at University of Colorado at Colorado Springs, in Business Management. I also received my license in Aesthetics so I could fulfill a lifelong dream of giving facials and educating people about skin care and how to feel and look younger. Exercise

There was one more thing I saw in life that I wanted to conquer. That was the big belly I saw that so many people had as they got older. I didn’t want that for my future and I certainly wanted to help people live longer and healthier lives. My life continued to evolve. I became more interested in wellness and began selling Juice Plus capsules, gummies, shakes and Tower Gardens. I believed I would make a lot of money and soon I lost myself in that and forgot about my health goals. I gained more weight and shot up to 157 pounds on my 4 11 frame. In 2013, I pursued my exercise goals and enrolled in National Personal Training Institute in Colorado Springs. In 2014, I took my first certification exam with National Academy of Sports Medicine and passed. We moved to Dallas and I was soon working with 24 Hour Fitness as a personal trainer.

Exercise a bad diet

I wanted more than just being a trainer so I became interested in group training and started teaching Silver Sneakers. I enrolled at Sunstone Yoga Academy and received my Yoga certification and began teaching Yoga. In September 2015, I started working 3 days a week at Cancer Rehab called Fit Steps for Life. I fell in love with helping people at a deeper level of exercise for chronic conditions. I am now enrolled at DCCCD pursuing my A.D. in Occupational Therapy. While still in the same industry of fitness since 2013, my life is more fulfilling than it has been in years. Evolving after 50 and reinventing myself has been rewarding journey. I’ve never been one to sit on the sidelines watching life go by believing personal development is only for the young. It’s also for the young at heart.

Facing Life After 50, it’s only just begun. Keep growing and you’ll never grow old.

 

What is Your Opinion?

